5 Surprising Drinks That Aren’t Vegan

Unrecognizable man pouring red wine in two glasses.

Non-Vegan Drink: Barefoot Wine (and Most Other Brands, Too)

Barefoot Wine may look vegan-friendly, but they did not pass Barnivore’s vegan wine test. In the wine-making process, gelatin (the by-product of bone which can often include the hooves of cows and pigs), and proteins from animal or fish products and milk or eggs have been used in the winemaking process. And, as Slashfood reports, most wines are made using this process. To ensure your wine is free of animal products, always look to make sure it’s labeled as vegan.

Non-Vegan Drink: Soda Products

It’s important to do your research when it comes to cola products because many
sodas contain ester gum. Ester gum is often used to thicken or stabilize food products and because it uses glycerol, it can be of animal origin.

For instance, Sunkist Orange soda contains ester gum.

Non-Vegan Drink: Tropicana Heart Healthy Orange Juice

The next time you go to the grocery store to pick up some juice, keep in mind that Tropicana’s heart healthy omega-3 orange juice contains fish oil and fish gelatin including tilapia, sardine and anchovies.

Non-Vegan Drink: Minute Maid Ruby Red Grapefruit (and Other Fruit Juices)

Wanna know how Minute Maid’s grapefruit looks so “ruby red”? It’s from cochineal (otherwise known as carmine, carminic acid, or Natural Red 4). Because this dye is made from an insect called the cochineal, it isn’t vegan. Make sure to check the label on any red-hued products you might be using since there’s a possibility, cochineal is one of the ingredients.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*